Firebrick necessary?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanK

Jan 10, 2016
California
Newbie here....I am working on installing a wood insert. I failed my measuring and due to the firebox tapering in, I can't get the insert pushed back all the way. Is there any reason I can't remove the firebrick? If the firebrick is necessary, is there a panel on the market that can be cut to fit and put in to save me space? Thx!

Newbie here....I am working on installing a wood insert. I failed my measuring and due to the firebox tapering in, I can't get the insert pushed back all the way. Is there any reason I can't remove the firebrick? If the firebrick is necessary, is there a panel on the market that can be cut to fit and put in to save me space? Thx!
You need 8" of masonry between that insert and any combustible material If you have that with out that fire brick you can if you don't then no you cant

How close is it? How much is sticking out?

How close is it? How much is sticking out?
Install manual says to set insert 14" into firebox. I can only get it pushed back about 11". Not enough to get the liner attached. I pulled a firebrick out on one side to take some measurements. Entire fireplace is 52" wide (outside) and continues into the basement where it also measures 52". When I measure the inside of the firebox to the firebox opening and compare it to the overall width it seems that there is about 10" of space between the firebox (without firebrick) and the outside of the whole fireplace. Sorry if that's confusing.....