Fireplace Insert Help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt V

Oct 4, 2013
Hello everyone, I am new to Hearth but not new to using a fireplace insert. About 7 years ago I purchased a Napolean 1101 and installed it myself. I used a six inch flex liner and did NOT insulate it. I never knew the overall benefits of this step. Anyway, I have always had a very difficult time lighting a fire, and once lit, I had to keep the door open for quite a while before the box was hot enough to be self sustained. I have decided to upgrade my insert for several reasons. I just want to make sure of a couple of things first.

1. should I replace my liner? What should I look for in it being inoperable or needing replacement

2. I think I had a fresh air intake issue with my Napolean, is it typical in that stove, or will I have the same issues with a new stove and how can I correct this issue.

3. I am looking at a Lopi Freedom, what are the good, bad and ugly of this stove and are they any other inserts that would be a better choice..

I know that I asking for quite a bit, but I don't want to make a bad choice!

Thanks,
Matt

Welcome Matt. How tall is the chimney? Is it an exterior or interior chimney?

Reactions: Matt V
Tackling your difficulty with starting a fire, please explain how you went about it, I can bet you didn't have enough firepower to get it going, it is not easy to start a fire, unless you really understand the process....
The liner, 7 years old, I say maybe...but get at least 2 professional opinions first.....

Reactions: Matt V