Fireplace Surround

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

kaymac

Dec 30, 2017
Long Island, NY
I've lurking here for almost a year and learned a lot. Thank you everyone.

I am new to wood burning. It wasn't on my must have list but the house I bought about 5 years ago had a fireplace. So I had the chimney cleaned, inspected and started having weekend fires and we really enjoyed it.

I'd like to upgrade this to a fireplace insert so I visited a local place that sold Quadrafire and I think I can fit the Grand Voyageur.

Here is a picture of my open fireplace with the glass doors off. The installer was here today and said that the fireplace surround wasn't safe for any burning. Not sure what to do now.

Attachments

• 20181008_153941 (1).jpg
    20181008_153941 (1).jpg
    135.9 KB · Views: 161
Did he mean that the mantel wood was too close to the insert to meet clearance requirements? If so there may be other insert options. What is distance from the center of the fireplace to the a) fireplace opening, b) to the mantel trim on the side? And what are the same two measurements vertically?

Here is are the voyager grand's clearance reqs. Did he mention mantel shielding?
Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 3.40.04 PM.png

Looks like the Hampton HI300 might work. Wondering about the Jotul C550.

I think I am OK to the side trim, I measured 44" across. The issue is top clearance to wood trim, it is only 30" and should be 43" if I understand correctly.