First fire on VC Montpelier II

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

agonyzhou

Nov 29, 2019
Maryland
After a month of wait time, I just got my new VC Montpelier II installed today. I am a complete newbie for burning wood, so I pretty much shopped blindly for this stove, bought the first one looks acceptable to me and fits my fireplace. Later on I read the manual and found this fantastic forum, I learned that this is a single burn rate stove. I almost wanted to cancel the deal but on the second thought a dumbed down stove may just be what I need. I don't see many people on this forum with this stove so I'll share whatever little I have from the first day of burning.

The installers that came were a little shady; I smelled marijuana on them. They are friendly enough though and climbed my 30 foot tall chimney with no complain. I asked them about the block off plate (read it here) but they didn't have the equipment to make one and don't think it is necessary. I paid some attention to the gasket of the door and the baffle blanket, they all looked in good order. The installation took about 3 hours and I lit the first fire right after they left.