First time install - A few questions..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr4btTahoe

Burning Hunk
Jan 13, 2015
Indiana
Hey guys...

Been reading over this forum for several weeks now and am in the process of doing my first install. I've had a wood stove in just about every house I've lived in but this is my first time doing the install.

My wife and I just bought a house out of town on a large wooded lot. The current house is all electric and while working on the place and keeping temps at 50 in the house, the electric bill has been over 200. With that said, a family member offered me their old "Silent Flame" stove and I figured why not...

I'm in the process of repainting the stove at the moment and I just picked up all of the 8" stainless double wall and components (SuperVent)... also going with double wall from the chimney to the stove.

I'm building my own hearth pad and have it framed up at the moment. Its a good bit larger then the stove requires.. framed up with 2x4 on edge.. 16" on center and covered with 3/4" plywood. Now here is where I'm stuck... The tag on the rear of the stove states that the floor protection needs to be 3/8" asbestos millboard or equivalent. It doesn't specify an R or K value. The specific stove sits on a large pedestal with a blower built into the bottom. I find it hard to believe that it needs much as far as heat transfer goes.

I was planning on a single layer of 1/2" nextgen durock and ceramic tile to finish off my pad. Will this be enough? If it is enough, will it limit me on future stove choices?