Help deciding on what to do, what kind of stove to use

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Me2

Nov 14, 2013
Kansas
Please bear with me as I am relatively new to wood burning stoves. My expertise is in hauling out of the woods and stacking neatly, while dad took care of the stove part.

I have this stove right now. It is a very nice old cast iron baby!

Our problems are:
1) the opening is only 9" x 10" because there is a metal apron or something hanging in front of the top part of the inside of the stove so it is difficult to get larger pieces of wood inside without burning our hands or arms or getting soot on our clothes.
2) there is no blower, so it might get up to 70-80 degrees in the living room, but even with the ceiling fan on the neighboring rooms will be up to 10 degrees colder (which is a huge deal in the early mornings when the temps in the other parts of the house are 50 or 60 degrees)

My questions are:
1) will a newer stove (with those glass doors) be easier to load and still burn as well (retain heat etc)? (I've read some bad reviews on Amazon so I'm very confused right now)
2) will a blower help distribute the heat to the rest of the house, which so far is not working with the ceiling fan?

We have very high ceilings and new windows, so not too drafty. The living room is separated from the rest of the house by a 3 1/2 foot wide doorway. Even our bedroom, which is directly off the living room will not warm up anything like that room. We do not have a basement otherwise I would try for a whole house system like we had when I was a kid.