Helping pick a direct vent gas fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

confusederic

Jan 18, 2017
CAPTCHA
I just found out we need a new direct vent fireplace. I am a complete amateur and no nothing about fireplaces. I am told we need a direct vent fireplace. I'm getting a bit overwhelmed by the options.

I like big fire places with a grand view of the fire. I'm thinking that is leading me to full view, or louver less? I want something quality that won't break the bank. From my initial review I've looked at things like the Napoleon Stargazer, Mendota Full View, T&C 42, Majestic Marquis II. Is there a brand I should focus on, or avoid? Is it possible to get a quality 42 inch direct vent fireplace with that full view look for under $3,000 (not installed)? Any and all help is appreciated.

Moved my fireplace from the side of the room to the center of the room. Turns out the duct work on the existing fireplace won't work with our build in cabinets in the center of the room, so replacing the old fireplace with a new direct vent fireplace.

I just found out we need a new direct vent fireplace. I am a complete amateur and no nothing about fireplaces. I am told we need a direct vent fireplace. I'm getting a bit overwhelmed by the options.