Homemade or DIY wood tools/ equipment

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Right now I weld in our schools ag shop (I am a teacher). But soon I will have my garage finished and be buying my own mig. I want it to be a wood working/ metal working shop. I plan on making most of the metal working "stuff" mobile so I can take it outside. The 220v plug outside is going to added to the wiring now.

Sawset, your metal bending idea is genius.

Reactions: Sawset
if I stripped off the loader and emptied the ballast out of the tires, I might get it down to 3000 lb, but it’s probably 4200 as presently configured, before adding the ballast box. One big question for me is the weight of the 320R loader, Deere doesn’t seem to list it anywhere.

Sounds like we have about the same size tractor. What do you need so much ballast for? I thought about weighted tires for a while but my tractor drives through a few feet of snow without any drama with just rear chains. The ballast box, especially at 1,900 lbs, would be fabulous for lifting boulders with the grapple. I look forward to seeing your end product. Most loaded boxes I've seen don't weigh more than my skidding winch.

Sounds like we have about the same size tractor. What do you need so much ballast for?