How best to adjust the air controls?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FiremanBob

Hearth Supporter
Nov 18, 2007
RI
I'm a noob. I've been burning as my primary heat source for about two weeks now and searched nearly 50 pages of threads on various topics so far. The owner's manual for my Russo stove has no information on how to adjust the controls for optimum burning. So I'm still experimenting with settings. Today I bought a thermometer which I stuck on the stove top. The stove has an intake air control in the ash drawer door and a damper at the top. I just discovered today that keeping the damper open all the way is not ideal. Doh!

Here are the issues I'm focusing on so far - do these make any sense? What am I missing?

Is the objective to keep the stove at a target temperature, burning more slowly with a full load to last the night, or more quickly at startup or reload to get back to the target range?

If I burn at optimum temperature, I should have the least amount of ash and glass blackening, and the longest burn times per load?

If I burn too hot, then I am using wood too fast and overheating the rooms? This, I imagine, is long before running so hot to risk a chimney fire. (Another engine company in my town got dispatched to a chimney fire about an hour ago.)

What is that optimal temperature, measured on the stove top?

Some things I've noticed so far: