How do you stack?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Berner

Feeling the Heat
Feb 1, 2012
Eastern, MA
Just curious how everyone has their splits stacked. I'm new to the wood burning in fact I'm still in the process of getting my stove setup but the more I read the more it suggests that you guys stack your wood according to species. I seem to read a lot about shoulder season wood and then tapping into oak or locust during the cold snaps.

I got my grapple load last year bucked it, split it and stacked it in no particular order. As I said I am a newbie but where did you guys learn your wood identification skills? I can barely determine the type of wood when it's in log form. Now that all the splits are mixed in together it makes it nearly impossible. Anyone have any suggestions for upping my wood identification IQ?

So I ask how do you stack your wood?

A) chronologically.

B). By species.

C). Any other methods.

It all goes in bins the Pine, Soft Maple and other softwoods have there own bin the rest goes together ( Medium and Hardwood ). The only exception is Oak when I find some it goes to the back of a bin for a few years.

Pete

Attachments

• IMG_0076.jpg
    IMG_0076.jpg
    129.9 KB · Views: 733
  • IMG_0023.jpg
    IMG_0023.jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 723