How far can a fireplace insert stick out?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Firefly1

Sep 16, 2015
White Plains, NY
Good day everyone,

Total newbie, so bear with me. I want to purchase a wood fireplace insert for my home and have a few questions. Due to the way my fireplace is shaped the sidewalls taper in preventing me from placing the insert up against the back wall. I have read on the forums that this is okay to do and in fact several inserts have some adjustments for this type of application. The insert that I am looking to purchase is the Osburn 2400, even with the adjustment set at the minimum depth of 16 1/4 inches (411 mm) the insert would still stick out approximately 1/2-1 inch. How would i deal with this difference when I want to install the surround? And should I even proceed purchasing this insert knowing this issue. Should I purchase a smaller insert one that will fit in without any issues? My house is 2700 sq. ft. and and has cathedral ceilings and open floor plan and therefore would require an insert that will not struggle to keep up.

Another question is regarding the surround, the height of my fireplace open is approximately 40 inches none of the surrounds cover that much of an opening, what should i do? Many thanks for everyone's help!