How Hot Can I Push My Osburn 1600 Insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Caw

Minister of Fire
May 26, 2020
Massachusetts
Hi All -

I have an 2019 model Osburn 1600 insert and I'm wondering what kind of temperatures it might be able to handle before I should start to get concerned. This is my first year with it and I'd like to make sure I'm not making any mistakes. The manual is very vague about over-firing (see pic). Here's my setup:

Stove: 2019 Osburn 1600 Insert. Non-cat, solid steel box.
Chimney: Approx 24' fully external masonry chimney with 6" liner and cap
House: 1600 sq ft two story cape. Very well insulated.

My chimney drafts extremely well, if not too well. Even in shoulder season with outside temps 35-50 degrees I have no problem getting her up to 600-700 degrees (magnetic stove top) quickly using just poplar, butternut, and soft maple splits and uglies with the air fully shut down (well, pushed all the way in...can't fully close EPA stoves of course). In fact, even with the air fully shut down I often have a raging inferno to go along with my secondaries. Getting a lazy flame is just not possible with a decent sized load.