How much for a cord of seasoned osage in SW Ohio

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gareth96

Burning Hunk
Feb 8, 2014
SW Ohio
Guy I know said he has about 2 cords of osage (hedge/horse apple) that's been down about 2 years.. said he's never sold wood so doesn't know what it's worth as firewood.. I'm new to this too, so don't know what to offer..

What's a fair offer in SW Ohio for a cord of seasoned osage? I don't know if it was just cut and piled, cut to firewood length, or something in between..

I don't think it's common enough for there to be a market price. I have never seen whole cords of osage advertised.

Also, even though it's osage, if it's just logs sitting in a field, not cut or split, it's not likely to be worth all that much as firewood. Bowmakers and wood turners would have a competing interest, but they'll be harder to find and may be less equipped to cut it up.

Tell him if it has been down for 2 years you will remove it for him, for free. If it is easy to get to,

If it is cut and split price would be the same for any other cord of firewood.

I've yet to pay for any wood yet in SW Ohio. If you look around you can find it cut and stacked for free, you just need to equipment and back strength to go haul it home, and the time to split it.

So it is cut to 15-18" pieces and split..

I could see someone wanting money out of wood they took the time to split then. How much is it worth to you? And do you have to pick it up yourself?