How to run a non-cat Blaze King low

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ColdInCanada

Sep 13, 2020
Yukon Territory
Hey all,

I'm brand new to wood burning and to these forums but I've already learned a lot from lurking the last couple of weeks!

My issue has been with turning my stove down. I couldn't find a thread about this particular issue so I apologize if I missed it.

I've got a 2015 Blaze King Princess non-catalytic. It has 6 thermostat settings with 6 being the highest. When I fire the stove up I let the fire burn in for 20 minutes or so and it gets nice and hot. 750F+ flue temp and a little less on the stove top. The issue shows up when I go to turn the stove down. I can turn it down to about 4.5 and have good flames up around the secondary air burner and the the temps stay around 500F flue and 625F stove top.

If i try to turn it down to setting 4 or lower the flames go out within 2-3 minutes and my flue temps drop steadily all the the way to around 250-300F and smoke starts pouring out of the chimney. After 45+ minutes the thermostat will open again and sometimes the flames come back but sometimes the coals just glow more. The flue temps come up a bit but never more than about 400F and they come back down the next time the thermostat closes. I understand that the thermostat regulates the heat output by adjusting the air but theres no way that low of flue temps for hours at a time can be good for my chimney right? The manual for the stove says to keep flames around the secondary air inlet at all times but I haven't found this to be possible.