In the market for a chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mroverkill

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Aug 10, 2010
Northern nj
overkillauto.com
looking for a chainsaw like the skihl line and like the 250 series was told to think of the 270 tell me what you think

What and how much and size you cut?

oops sorry its my first year just bought a house putting on a quadrafire 4300 in in 2 weeks have my 25 ton splitter as of now i have 1.5 cords of wood ready and trying to have another 1.5 ready soon

im looking at a 18" bar if that helps at all im not sure how "big" you can cut with that

this year i might have to buy some seasoned wood and that should set up up for this year and what ever i save up this year and next ill will be ready

i dont know how much i am going to burn yet i am told 2 cords all the way to 4 cords so its going to be a wait and see

a 270 would do that amount of wood for you. I run a 028 and did about 3 cords last year and this year will be the same. I wouldn't go any smaller than that, though. 290 is an option, but my honest opinion is that you'll eventually start itching for something larger. I'd just go ahead and get the 362 and be done with it. with a saw that size you'll make easy work of the amount of wood you are looking at, and if you ever need to expand your wood processing operations then your saw will be fine.