Insert install questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike49024

Nov 6, 2010
SW Michigan
Hello all,

I'm new to this but mechanically inclined. I bought the harmon p35i today and it will be delivered on Wednesday.

The insert will go into a factory built fireplace (metal chimney). I want to draw the outside air from the chimney. The dealer said I can just use 3pvp flex pipe for both the intake and the exhaust. Is this correct? I saw alot of double wall vent pipes on the internet. Is there a benefit to running the rigid vent pipe over the flex pipe? It will be about a 15' vertical rise to the top of my chimney.

My understanding is that both intake and exhaust pipes need to go through a piece of sheetmetal that is sealed and insulated at the bottom of the chimney (near the damper). But then the intake only has to extend a few feet into the chimney above the sheetmetal. And the Exhaust will run to the top. Then I imagine I have to cap the chimney.

Thanks in advance for the help!

ps. My dealer that I purchased the stove from does not do installs and seems to have a total lack of knowledge about proper installation, as they gave me a lot of wrong information. Also I would love to ask these questions personally to Harmon, but it appears they do not have a tech line. Frustration is building, but I'm hoping you guys and your wealth of knowledge can help that out : )