Insert recommendation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Parker25

Mar 18, 2013
Hi all,
Newbie here and I am in the process of deciding what insert to install in my house. I live in eastern Long Island, house is a traditional cape with block wall construction. Windows are replacement and still a little drafty. House is about 1700 sq. ft.. There is an enclosed breezeway attached to the right side of the main house which is where the fireplace is. This room is about 150 sq.ft. This room is very cold as it has two large windows, two exterior doors, a wall of brick and the only source of heat is an electric baseboard. This room is 2 ft lower then the main house and their is a 3ft opening with french doors that lead into the main part of the house(the kitchen). I am looking to heat this room, and a good portion of the lower level as this is the main living area (kitchen and living room). The living room is off the kitchen with a 6ft opening. Current fireplace opening is 32 1/2" wide by 29" high. I have been doing some research and was looking for some input on what size stove to go with, brand, and if I am going to have a problem with circulating the heat into the main part of the house. I am looking for something middle of the road with a solid name, variable speed blower and long burn time. Any input would be much appreciated. Thanks.