just picked up a jotul 3

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

against88

Mar 1, 2020
crestline ca
hello,

first off, thanks for being a wealth of information as i research wood stoves for my cabin in crestline CA (southern california, 4500 feet). this is my first time exploring the world of burning wood outside of fireplaces and camp fires, and its been fun and informative.

i found an older jotul #3 (1983-1988 per the jotul stove identification doc) in seemingly solid shape.

my cabin has a corner brick chimney/hearth, with a 6" outlet about 5 feet off the ground. the corner walls have brick starting about 3 feet up at the joint of the wall/chimney, and moving down at an angle until the hit the floor about 2 feet out from the base of the chimney (meeting the edge of the hearth bricks). i'll try to snap some photos when i'm up there tomorrow. i've included a picture of the stove.

my question is regarding the clearances. the jotul installation and operating instructions have various clearances, but don't mention allowing a corner installation with reduced clearances using a double wall pipe (or with top exit + one 90 degree )... does that mean i cant use the 13" clearance with the double wall pipe?

if so i may have to save this for my other unit and look for a smaller unit or one with lower clearances.

(bonus question - there is a small corner of the glass cracked off, probably less than a square centimeter gap, not noticable from the outisde... any chance i could just oven cement that closed to prevent extra air coming in and hold off replacing it?)

thanks!

Attachments

• jotul #3 white.jpg