Kiln Dried Wood Yes or No?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

campfirejoe

Dec 29, 2023
Rochester, MN
Hello, I’m new to MN and trying to support my heating efforts with an i2500 Regency catalytic hybrid stove. It’s been quite a learning curve and I have been reading different opinions on kiln dried wood. In the regency brochure it says „avoid“ using kiln dried wood and another note even mentions warranty voids if using kiln dried wood.
So what’s peoples experience/opinion on that? The local supplier claims their wood is below 20% MC and therefore should be ideal for fuel? It does seem like some batches are better than others and the last one I got seemed a bit green still and has a fruity smell even though it did split very well just like dried/seasoned wood. Any recommendations on what suppliers I should look for and is kiln dried a myth? Thank you very much for your insights.

The experts may well chime in -- but my idiot's version is that the danger of kiln dried wood is that it is easier to overfire a stove with a load of all kiln-dried wood. Moisture content for KD lumber is 6-8% to meet US standards; air dried lumber usually doesn't get below approx 10%.

That said, I'm in the habit of burning wood shop scraps (and sometimes unfinished wood flooring scraps) in mine as a starter/supplemental wood but I use it carefully and sparingly.