Kindling tools?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 23, 2014
Central O-hi-o
So I am a wood-stove noob, hoping to keep my family cozy this coming winter at our new (to us) horse farm: 7 acres, 11 stalls, and a used Hearthstone Heritage.

So as I try to prepare, I am wondering why there are not more tools specifically for making kindling around. Knowing nothing, I had the thought that a fixed blade you could pound the wood onto would be a good way to go.

The second method demonstrated here is what I am talking about:

Obviously I am not the only one to think of this, but the only tool out there designed to do this (that I can find on the market) is WAAAAAYY overpriced. (And yes, I have searched all around this super-awesome forum)

I know that there are plenty of you who have been using a hatchet safely to split kindling since before I was born and still have all nine fingers, etc., but why is there nothing out there at a reasonable price designed to work this way?

I know that there are plenty of you who have been using a hatchet safely to split kindling since before I was born and still have all nine fingers, etc., but why is there nothing out there at a reasonable price designed to work this way?

No demand. Probably because we've all just been using hatchets since before you were born. :rolleyes:

I used the hydraulic log splitter to bust up small piles of pallet wood into kindling sticks.
It was kinda like using a sledgehammer to drive a finishing nail, but I had a pile of little hardwood sticks in no time.

What else is a hatchet good for?