Lopi Flex95 insert questions.....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mtmtnman

Mar 11, 2017
Wisconsin Northwoods
Hi folks, Looking at a nice used Lopi Flex 95 for my home as the fireplace i have is just a huge waste of heat up the chimney. House was built in 2002 and has an 8" triple wall flue. I am a general contractor but have never installed one of these before and wonder if i have to pull the existing fireplace out? (near impossible as rock work is over the front) or if i can slide this unit into the fireplace? Installation instructions online are vague but it looks like i can slide the unit in per page 38 here: http://www.lopistoves.com/TravisDocs/93508019.pdf Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Going through about 150-200 gallons of propane a month and have an abundance of dead standing oak on my property going to waste...
20170311_184041.jpg 20170311_184051.jpg 20170311_184110.jpg ws1.jpg ws2.jpg ws3.jpg ws4.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
The odds are no for this old stove. Do you know what is the make and model of the zero clearance fireplace? Sometimes this is listed on a tag inside the door frame.

Page 38 outlines inserting it into a masonry fireplace, yours is not a masonry fireplace.
You have a zero clearance fireplace. Your best bet is to install a class A chimney in another location and keep the fireplace as is.

Look in the manual for the Marco. My guess it that it will say no insert is allowed to be installed. That together with the stove manual saying that it's only for masonry installation pretty much settles it.