Mingo length marker?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffman3

Nov 20, 2007
S.W. Nebraska
Has anyone ever used a product for measuring and marking cuts, called a Mingo. It looks interesting, but I would like to hear some opinions before I spend the money. I am concerned about getting my wood to fit the small box on my soon to be installed Tribute. (small box) My thinking is that I will need to take advantage of every inch of space to get the best and longest burn, but if it won't fit in the stove it does me no good. I'm not that good at judging length while I'm cutting. I think I need something to measure my cuts, but what? any ideas?

Thank you!!! that is a wonderful idea! I never would have thought of that, and it wouldn't take any time at all to measure a cut! I had thought about putting a paint mark on the bar, but that would ware off pretty quick I think. I will have too check out what it would take to set something like that up on my craftsman saw. This is why I love this site. People are willing to share ideas just to be helpful.

A neighbor of mine will pound in a stake next to his sawbuck approximately the distance away he wants his wood to be cut. Just slide the length to the stake and cut.