My Backup Power Inverter Setup For My Harman

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

4UGod

Feb 26, 2017
Nevada
Hello sirs! I have seen a lot of threads with people asking about what inverter to get for a power outage or what size battery etc... but it's hard to find people to share actual results after receiving advice here on the forums, so I thought I'd share my setup. I hope someone may find some of the information useful. I'm no expert, but the setup works for my needs. (Power goes out here two or three times a year for usually less than 4-5 hours). :)

I bought a new Harman P43 for $2,800 to heat my family's small 2 bedroom/3 bath 1500 sqft home. I built the pad myself and installed it with my dad and some help from the Good Lord. I had a few 12v 35ah deep cycle batteries on hand and bought a 1000w pure sine wave inverter on Amazon for $108. I tried my regular 2000 watt inverter, but because it was not pure sine wave, the Harman would not run on it (this was before I did forum research and found I needed a pure sine wave inverter).