My boiler is leaking

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Roundgunner

Feeling the Heat
Nov 26, 2013
Rural CT
I have been fighting a crack for a couple years. It is thin (1/8 -3/16) cheap stainless, I had a welder try to weld it and it burned thru, and when we turned it down it tore. It’s not like a typical crack I have seen.

20190129_142230.jpg

After trying to weld it a few times I filled it with high temp JB weld, that held water for about a month. When it started leaking bad again I cleaned it out real well and filled it with regular JB weld, and drilled a hole to a piece that did not pass thru the water jacket. I made a plate of 1/8 cold rolled steel and covered it with red permatex gasket material and screwed it tight. It held for almost a year.

This season I have redone it twice and now I even covered the plate with a 1” insulating material to try to keep it cooler. It’s leaking bad again. I would like to try to make it thru the rest of this season without shutting it down again.

When I do it next time a welder friend told me to try braising the crack. I’m good with that but I would like to hold off till it warms up.

I’m going thru 6 gallons of water a day. I thought it was horrible but then I think about the old steam locomotives and I know those things leaked into the firebox. Is that much water going to hurt anything I haven’t thought of?

What model and brand is it? 1/8" stainless shouldn't be impossible to weld. If it tears there's a stress issue going on perhaps.