Need Help with getting a hot fire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

NavyPharmer

Jan 17, 2018
Philadelphia
I am new to having a wood stove and have found this website very helpful. I had a Regency I2400 installed last month and I don't think I have had much luck getting secondary combustion. I can't come close to the temperatures that are mentioned in some posts. I use a laser thermometer and about the max temp I can get when measuring the top of the stove is 330 or so. Inside the stove the hottest I can find is in the 920 range. There isn't any smoke coming out of my chimney so maybe I am doing ok.

I know that my wood isn't in the best of condition, it has been "seasoned" for a year but I am pretty sure it isn't in that <20% moisture that is recommended. I have learned a lot from this year's experience and next year will order my wood really early. Is there anyway to salvage this year with the wood I've got or am I doing ok and just need to adjust my expectations?

Thank you for reading and the advice!

Can you get your hands on any well-seasoned wood? Even if you can only get a small amount, mixing that in with your wood would help somewhat.