Need Lots of Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dottie

Jan 11, 2008
Virginia
Hi,

I joined this forum when I got my first wood stove (Hearthstone Heritage) in Jan/08. Members really came through for me when I needed advice and encouragement, and now I can’t remember why it seemed so difficult.

I’m hoping that members can again help me as I find myself in need of lots of different advice. I have bought a small place (3.11 acres) in the country, so I think I’ll be needed some new tools that I’ve never used before. I’m under a strict budget at this time but I would like to have advice on what to get first and what the members would recommend I purchase.

I think I’ll need a chainsaw to cut up the fallen trees on the property. They are mostly junipers, but I also hope to get some fallen hardwood elsewhere for burning in the wood stove. Could I also burn the juniper if I clean the chimney regularly? I’m having the man who installed my wood stove move it to the country and clean and check the chimney before I use the stove, but a think that the chimney is lined and in good shape. I saw a lightweight 10 lb or so Echo at Home Depot for about $350 would this be a good one? It was either 18 or 20 inches.