New BK Insert ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pete97

Aug 29, 2006
Pittsburgh Pa
I am finally getting to use my new BK Princess Insert. Some observations and ?'s I have. Sorry, I am new to this type of stove and have always have old non efficient smoke dragons !!!

1. I am using dry wood so the Cat stays active for the whole 12-13hr burn cycle. Is it ok for the Cat gauge to be burried a lot of the time?
2. At the end of the burn cycle I set the t-stat on medium and rake out the coals. I then load it with wood and run it on medium for a good 20 minutes and then turn it down to around 1 - 1.5. Sound ok to do?
3. Is it ok to not run the fans in the shoulder season?

Thanks, I love the stove already and cant wait for the really cold weather to see how she performs !!! Thanks Pete

pete97 said:
I am finally getting to use my new BK Princess Insert. Some observations and ?'s I have. Sorry, I am new to this type of stove and have always have old non efficient smoke dragons !!!

1. I am using dry wood so the Cat stays active for the whole 12-13hr burn cycle. Is it ok for the Cat gauge to be burried a lot of the time? It new give it a while to break in.