New Hearthstone 8024

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

scottgen20

Feb 15, 2006
Lower Saucon, PA
Hi Everyone,

Just wanted to post to share experiences so far with my new Hearthstone Heritage 8024.

A bit of background.. I have been burning for many years, and over the last 6 or so years have been using a 1st gen Jotul 8 from 1984. I really loved the Jotul.. It heated up very quickly, would eat anything you threw in it, and when packed and damped down would get good overnight burns. I was also impressed with it's relatively clean burning - although double wall all the way down to the stove may have played a part in this as well.

That being said, I'm sure like many of us, at the start of each heating season I've started to look at new stoves. While I loved the Jotul, I couldn't help but think I was probably going through more wood than necessary. If I had the air open more than 1/4 then I'd be reloading more than a few times a day. I also wasn't crazy about the arched opening as it restricted the split size that I could squeeze into the firebox. What sealed the deal this year for me was the tax credit... Too good to turn down I figured.

I live in an 1800's farmhouse in Pennsylvania, approximately 1800sq ft. The stove is located in the living room and the house has a central staircase so the heat from the stove shoots right upstairs. I like to sleep cool so it works out perfectly.. I don't think the heat has been turned on upstairs in years.