New Montpelier issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Joetomass

Jan 4, 2016
Philly
hi I'm new to forms. I just installed a new vc Montpelier. Love the look of the stove, firebox little small for med. insert but... The issues Im having is I seem to have an extremely high wood consumption. I have to reload every 2-3 hrs. ( with air control fully closed). My overnight burns horrible. I load it at 11pm-midnight and by 6:30am it is out almost completely. I need to do a full relight in the morning. Tried checking for air leaks around the door with a match an smoke but nothing found. Not shore if that's the way it is or do I have an problem. Also doesn't seem to heat house as good I a was lead to believe. The door also darkens very fast an will not burn off at all even with the air door wide open. Little history on everything, had a free standing stove before installing the vc an didn't have any issues except that old stove was to small. Chimney liner is the same I just cleaned it before installing, any help would be great
Thanks