New T5, difficult to get it lit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Andrew V

Nov 28, 2013
Rochester NY
So let me start that I’ve been burning for at least 7 years. I just got rid of a Napoleon 1450 which went up through the center of the house and moved to the corner of the living room with a PE Aldrelea T5. The stove was installed today, double wall inside and about an 18’ chimney outside. I decided to do a tiny break in fire and I’m having a hard time getting it going. I’m using fat wood and a couple pieces of split down 1 year seasoned maple. I have it all the way to “start” but it will go for a little bit then die out. If I hold the ash dump open it gets going great. Weather outside is about 60 degrees which may affect draft. Any ideas why it’s a pain to get going? My Napoleon would light up without issue.

CBEF8050-A53F-43C5-A1A3-8E85B1712CB1_zpslaypyjd1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
The 90s knock off like 3' effective height each, so that will have some impact vs your old straight shot. That being said 60 degrees isn't helping either. I've found in my new install that it looks like around 55 degrees is where I can get an easy start. Started a fire at 67 yesterday (just a break in burn, wanted to be able to keep the windows open) and it was difficult to start.