new to stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

elby

Mar 20, 2009
southwest PA
Hello all. I am brand new to woodburning and am still in the process of deciding on a stove. It is between a Quadrafire 3100 Millenium and a Vermont Castings Dutchwest catalytic stove (large). Also, the prices on the Englander stoves in Home Depot are very tempting. But I don't want to be penny wise and pound foolish. I want to use as little wood possible, but also need to economize on the stove and chimney. We will have to install the chimney, and that is also confusing to me. It will go straight up, through a crawl space attic and out the roof near the eave. I don't know whether I should use double wall or triple wall for the inside portion, or what to use for the attic portion or the outside portion.

Sorry, so many questions! This is a major purchase and I don't want to regret what I purchase. What I would like to hear is from people who know about the three models I mentioned.

Thanks!