Newb chainsaw purchase

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian VT

Minister of Fire
Jul 30, 2008
Southern VT
I called my closest (45 min. drive) Dolmar dealer today. He's open until 8:00 pm weeknights ! Said he's been selling them since 1974. I'm anxious to visit.
I've never owned a chainsaw and have only used one a few times (1/2 hr. total lifetime ?). Planning to get a 5100S because you guys said so. LOL
I'm not good at "dickering" and don't plan to. If I wanted to save a couple bucks I'd shop online, but I'd rather have some service in this instance.
So, what would be reasonable to ask for before I leave ? Swap out the safety chain ? Keep it on for my learning time and throw in a better chain for later ? Basic lessons and safety advice ? Should I have them "break it in" before I get there so I don't need to go back for carb adjustments ?
What do you guys expect from a full service dealer when you buy a new saw ?

Brian VT said:
I called my closest (45 min. drive) Dolmar dealer today. He's open until 8:00 pm weeknights ! Said he's been selling them since 1974. I'm anxious to visit.
I've never owned a chainsaw and have only used one a few times (1/2 hr. total lifetime ?). Planning to get a 5100S because you guys said so. LOL
I'm not good at "dickering" and don't plan to. If I wanted to save a couple bucks I'd shop online, but I'd rather have some service in this instance.