Newbie here: Help choosing a new wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

HarryKolos

Nov 8, 2022
Pacific NW
Hi all,
I’m new to wood burning and heating my home with wood. I want to thank all of you for the plethora of knowledge shared on this forum! I have so much to learn, and this has been such a great resource!

We are building a new house in Washington state with lots of scrub oak and some pine in the area. The temperatures can get into single digits in the winter, and over 100 in the summer. The main floor is approximately 3,500sq feet with 9 foot ceilings throughout, but does vault to about 20 feet in the family room with lots of windows. The walkout basement is approximately 2,200sq feet with 9 foot ceilings, but that includes a garden garage, utility room, a root cellar and large storage room. The areas that would need to be heated are maybe 1,000sq feet (2 overflow/extra bedrooms and a family room area with a little kitchenette in the basement).

My intentions are to have a liquid propane (LP) gas fireplace for the main floor, and a back up wood burning stove in the basement. My wife doesn’t want the mess of wood in her main family room, and possibly bringing ticks into the house.

My concern is one day I may not be able to get LP delivered due to shortages, or winter roads making them not drivable. I won’t be able to use my fireplace or stove so I want to have heating and cooking capabilities with the back up wood burning stove in the basement.