Newbie Here: (Re)Building off grid cabin and need some stove advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

billlumberg

Mar 7, 2022
USA
So my previous cabin was hit by lighting and burned to the ground. Rebuilding it now. I did have a Quadafire Pellet insert, but want to go with a wood stove for primary heating. I will have a 5T geothermal for the first floor and a 2T forced air for the loft area. Given that, I am trying to design the system for off grid as much as possible.

The overall layout of the cabin is a 45'x'45 and will be built using 8"x8"x12" logs. First floor has two bedrooms/bathrooms that run along the left side the entire length of the cabin and will be 16' wide. Above the bedrooms, will be a 1/2 second floor that will be partly open except a 3rd bedroom/bathroom encompassing and area of 11.5' x 22'. Outside of the loft area, the first floor will be cathedral ceiling to a height of 22'. The stove will be placed directly under that peak, so if I was to run the pipe out of the ceiling, it would have approx. ~18' run.

My requirements/desires: Looks, little smoke in house when adding wood, ease of use, can go thru the night, would function without any electricity, good stove functionality. I also would like boiler functionality and it to meet the EPA tax credit. Cost is somewhat not an issue, but don't want a Ferrari if a Ford will do.

I am considering the following products:

Pacific Energy Alderlea T6 LE
Woodstock Progress Hybrid
Vermont Castings Dauntless Flexburn
Blaze King 40
Vermont Bun Baker XL 1600 with 2 3/8" soapstone veneer

Thoughts? Any other units I should consider?

TIA,

Bill