Newbie here with some advice needed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bazzin05

Dec 22, 2015
Southwestern Ohio
Hi all,
I'll just start by saying I am new here and I love the wealth of information that is shared here. My wife and I have recently purchased a house and are working on turning our main heating in the living area of the house to be wood with an insert. I have read a bunch of information on here and researched different inserts and at this point I have decided to go with the Pacific Energy Summit. We have a 2700 SQFT house with an open floor plan and think this would best suit our needs. The house was built in the late 1970's and at one time had a wood burning insert in it but when we moved in the previous owners had change it over to Propane because they didn't want to mess with wood any longer. We have removed the propane insert and have a nice large opening for the new wood burning insert. The opening is 28.5" tall x 35.5" wide x 28.5"deep. I do have a few questions about it though.

1. When the propane insert was installed the installer busted the side of the chimney out from the basement fireplace to run the gas line. Could I just cover this with a thick piece of steel and seal it with some high temperature caulking?
Busted.jpg

2. You can see the electric box hanging in the back... I know I need to put a metal box on that is there any specific place that is best to mount that inside the opening? I figure I will need to move where the wire comes through the block but am not sure if I could just mount it there.