Newbie Question - How long to heat house

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cpop

Sep 18, 2007
CT
Hi All,

This is my first year burning a Hampton 300 wood insert. Just wondering how long on average I should expect to wait to heat the house? Are you guys getting the house nice and hot after about 4 hours burn time or is this after burning consistently 24/7?

I have a 2000 sq/ ft center hall colonial. The house is very well insulated; built 20 years ago; new energy efficient windows. The insert is located in the family room and at the other end of this room is the stair way to go up and beyond that is a doorway into the living room. We normally start a fire at night after work to take the chill off the room and then will be burning continuosly over weekend from Friday morning to Monday morning. Originally I was thinking I could crank this thing and get house up to 75; but now understand that it is heating by convection and pushing the air around the house may not be able to acheive this kind of temp.

I put a thermometer on the top of the stove where the fan air comes out (you need a flashlight to see it in there, but only place I could think of to get accurate reading). I will wait to get er up to 600 or so, damper down and turn the fan on high. This morning is about 30 -35 outside. House 60 up and down. After about 4 hours the room the insert is in is about 68, the rest of the downstairs is 65. The upstairs is only 61. Is this normal?