No damper

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

charles b

Hearth Supporter
Nov 27, 2010
sw ohio
Hello, all. This is my first post--I'm new to this. Here goes...I have an Aurora wood burning insert in a masonry chimney. It is vented through an 8 in. home saver flex liner. The last time I had it swept I was told I had no damper. So here's my question. On the back of my insert is a stainless rectangle by 8 in. round adaptor. While researching online, I found a cast iron insert adaptor that would probably work on my insert. Is it possible to install a damper in the adaptor? Also, if I damper it down, since it's only an insert, will the gases and exhaust remain hot enough to not condensate up my 20 ft. high, 8 in. round chimney? Should it have been a 6 in. liner? Many questions...just want to do it right.

Hi Charles. I'm not familiar with the insert. Does it NEED a damper? Most (all?) modern inserts I can think of aren't designed with one and are controlled by the air controls instead.

How old is the insert? Is it EPA approved? Does it have a 6 or 8 inch flue collar?

Why do you want a flue damper?

The insert is approximately 30 yrs. old. I do have air controls on the front. No matter how much air I allow it or not allow it to have, the fire doesn't slow down. The unit does have what looks to be a rod that would control the damper but is not hooked up to anything. I thought if I could damper it down that it would burn slower. Right now I have to feed it every 2 hrs. Is my thinking flawed?