Noob?!? How do I light my pellet master 5000 stove (circa 1996 i think, no manual)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hairyconiption

Mar 4, 2009
Idaho
Howdy,
First post, I have a Pellet Master 5000 and have no idea how to light the thing. Any help would be great. There is a Allen key on the door going to the burn pot, so I am not sure if it is supposed to auto light, or if I am supposed to unscrew the allen every time I want a fire..

I can post pics in the next day or so, if I can find the cord for my camera.

Thanks

The pellet master you need to use a Firestarter and light by hand
The allen key is a safty thing so the door dont get open.

you can go 25 bags or more of pellets before you need to clean the burn pot because it is a true bottom feed stove.
you need to chip out the carbon in the pot about every 25 bags.

The glass you will never be able to keep clean because it is a Positive air stove and the glass will get dirty the fist day.
just clean it every time you restart the stove.

Put some pellets in the burn pot just up to the air slits and put some gell in and light
push the start and leave it be for 15 minutes when the room air come on put it to run
Set the heat rate to Med or Hi if you have a thermostat.