noob woodstove:DIY install? used v new?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

vap0rtranz

Feb 22, 2020
Wisconsin
Hi, noob here but been lurking for months and found great info here at Hearth, so ty for sharing. I've got a couple questions that I hope you all would weigh in on:

1) How much skill is needed to DIY a woodstove install?

I've watched a few videos on the install process including stovepipe & chimney, read folks experiences here, ... some people say they don't ever use their dealer/installer again except to order replacement parts. The closest dealer spitballed a $1k-2k figure for install -- but we're having him come out to give a firm estimate b/c it sounds like his # is low. The stovepipe, chimney, non-stove parts plus labor look more expensive than $1k-2k, so I fear the dealer is only giving a parts OR a labor #, not a total install #.

Also: these stoves weight a ton!! How do DIYers actually move them onto the hearth?

2) Avoiding problems by doing it right the 1st time: poor / excessive draft, backpuffing, overfiring, etc.

I've read a few manuals by the manufacturers and read posts here on how to avoid problems like poor draft / starvation, "jet engine" draft, overfiring. It sounds like a couple things should be done at install to help prevent these:

a) total draft should be at least to spec (so length from stove to cap)
b) avoid 90 degree elbows
c) avoid reducers in pipe
d) keep pipe inside home as much as possible (avoid external chimney)
e) outside / fresh air kit