Novice and New Quadrafire Owner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Dinnerbellmel

Jan 1, 2017
Upstate New York
Hi everyone,

I'm just introducing myself. We recently added a new fireplace to our home and we got a Quadrafire 7100. So far I like it. The ACC settings were confusing at first but I'm getting the hang of it now. A good fire gets the entire house to 75 degrees plus (warmer in some parts than others) so I need to open a window sometimes.

I'm new to a wood burner so I'm learning. I see how important it is to have properly seasoned wood. My first load of several cords wasn't entirely seasoned (he said it was cut in August of '15 but I don't think it was properly stacked.) I'm hoping to save that load for next year. Fortunately, I went to a local orchard and got a good load of apple wood. That seemed to raise the temp a couple degrees _g as that wood seems to burn hotter than others I've used. The worst thing I've encountered is cleaning the glass. It's a pain but I've read some posts here that hopefully will help.

Anyway, I hope to continue to learn on this site and will post any questions I have along the way.

Mel

Welcome. The Quad 7100 is a beautiful fireplace.

The more dense woods such as Apple will definitely burn hotter, as will properly dried wood. I would take claims by most wood-sellers with a grain of salt. That wood may have been "cut" in 2015 but unless it was also split and stacked in the wind, it probably won't be very dry...especially if it's Oak.