Opinion on this chipper?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
New price is $750 at Lowe's. Not sure how old this one is but if in good shape would certainly be worth it. However, you are a long ways from Watervlite! I'm even a bit over 100 miles from there, but don't think we'll be getting one so if you want it you can buy it.

Both are real Troy bilt units. The 5 HP Tommy ain't a bad deal if you are only chewing up small bits and branches. The 8 HP has a lot more grunt and you should be able to find one under $300 pretty easily.

I have no experience with the other (newer) unit but it certainly looks like a decent unit. Would have to be up close to tell more.

New price is $750 at Lowe's. Not sure how old this one is but if in good shape would certainly be worth it. However, you are a long ways from Watervlite! I'm even a bit over 100 miles from there, but don't think we'll be getting one so if you want it you can buy it.
Nope. Only about 20 miles from Watervliet. Perhaps you're thinking I'm in a different Sand Lake.