Opinion on this creosote buildup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Moranaj

Oct 19, 2018
PA
As many of you know from my last thread I'm new to burning and likely do not have the best quality wood. I took these pictures tonight since I finally didnt have a fire going.
I've been burning since october 20th every day at least and running the stove on a few occasions for 5 or 6 days straight. Is this creosote bad to the point where I need to have it swept immediately? I burn when I'm not home and a chimney fire is not something I'm interested in experiencing.

Admittedly the first few weeks I was definitely a creosote making machine as far as how I was burning and trying to get the fiance involved has lead to some smokey fires.
Not sure if its applicable to a creosote buildup thread but I'm running a manchester stove with a double wall ~15ft stovepipe

20181211_202936.jpg 20181211_202112.jpg 20181211_202312.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Looks like ash with a little glazed creosote at the very top. Probably pretty normal, but Im not a sweep.
Did you clean the cap before you put it back on?

Yes it needs cleaned. It isn't horrible but should be done

Copy that. Im not trying to skimp on service for the chimney. If it needs it I want to get it done. Is it excessive though for just under 2 months of burning? L

Copy that. Im not trying to skimp on service for the chimney. If it needs it I want to get it done. Is it excessive though for just under 2 months of burning? L
Yes it is excessive for that time period. But I see way worse daily. Just clean it and do better.

Reactions: Moranaj