Pellet comparison tool -- New & Improved (just new).

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

movemaine

Minister of Fire
Nov 28, 2011
Central Maine
movemaine.com
Hey All,

for fun (I'm a web developer/programmer - this constitutes fun) I created a pellet comparison tool.

http://jsfiddle.net/jasonday/zNxRQ/embedded/result/

The tool calculates your heated space BTU needs, and then takes the entered pellet info to determine how many pounds of pellets it takes to reach that BTU.

Using that information, I then determine if you burn x of pellet A then based on the above btu/lb amount - you'll burn y of pellet B.

Try it out and let me know what you think, or if it could use some improvements.

Thanks.

Very cool thanks!

I don't often get to see the test results from the mills. Anyway you can fiddle with something to assist with pellets we burn. Maybe Temp and pounds per hour average?

Nice!

I don't often get to see the test results from the mills. Anyway you can fiddle with something to assist with pellets we burn. Maybe Temp and pounds per hour average?

hmm. I'd have to think about how to factor those in (or should they be a separate calculation. )

hmm. I'd have to think about how to factor those in (or should they be a separate calculation. )

Probably seperate. I will use it and maybe ihatepropane? Maybe see if others might be interested before you trudge through it. I think what you have done already will work for many burners.