Pellet Musings

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

minux

Nov 30, 2018
Baltimore, MD
I am a Computer Scientist by education and an engineer by trade, so I wanted to share some direct experiences in hopes of increasing people's comfort in this cold season.

The background is I have an undersized pellet stove that is the primary source of heat for my 3,400 square foot home. I am working on adding another stove to the main level.

Stove is in the basement and runs 24/7 in Room Temp mode. 78 degrees brings the upstairs thermostat to 71 degrees. Perfect.

Some observations to share:

- Hard versus Soft Wood Pellets: Soft wood pellets do not burn as hot or clean as hard wood pellets in my Harman Accentra 52i. With soft woods, I had to empty and clean every week. When I cranked the burn rate, soft woods were obliterated in my stove. When I crank with hardwoods, a reasonable fill time is achieved. With hard woods, I can go two weeks without emptying the ash pan.

- Fan Speed and Temperature: Higher fan speeds do not equate to higher temperatures in my upstairs. When the fan was set to high in Room Temp mode, my upstairs never got above 70. Now that the fan is set to low, I get 71 in the upstairs.Plus, the basement is usable now without the stove sounding like a Cessna.