pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sinclair11772

Nov 16, 2010
long island ny
Im new to the pellet stove however i love the idea. I purchased one this year and the one i bought sucks. No ash pan or auto. start. I have been looking at a few newer models the st. croix hasting 1800sq ft, the mt vernon 3300 sq ft, and i just saw the lennox bella 2300sq ft today. I like the bella because i think the size is perfect. with cold temp. and the size of my house 1650sq ft i think this one would be the best one for my house, but i cant find any reviews. the mt vernon is the same price and looks to be a great stove, but im worried about the size of the unit 60200 btu. I need about 42000 btu to heat my house on a cold day. I also like the st croix and have heard good things i just think that it would be under powered. Also what would happen if i got the mt vernon could it be to big? someone please help?

Sizing a stove based on some 'sq. ft.' rating is really misleading.

A pellet stove is a space heater plain and simple. A small stove will heat and open floor plan home better than a large stove heats a traditional floor plan. If you have a closed floor plan home you will need a few fans to help move the heat around.

My St. Croix is rated at 40K btu but it will melt your face off running on heat setting #4 to #6... it takes a very cold, sub-zero day to ever see #4 so the 40K rating is plenty for my smaller home.