Picked up an old Quaker stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Donlawson84

Feb 15, 2019
MIDDLETOWN, DE
I am new to using a wood stove and just dragged an on Quaker Buck out if my parents basement. I cleaned it up, seems to be in very good shape. Seems that I am missing something insternal, any suggestions? This stove is pretty long (34") with the design should I burn in the middle or towards the rear?
20190221_180048.jpg 20190221_190827.jpg
Thanks
Donny

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: SpaceBus
The angle iron was probably part of the firebrick setup. It looks like that stove burned for a while with the bottom firebricks in and the side ones out.

I wouldn't burn in that thing at all unless I just needed emergency heat while I saved up for a stove. Even if you rebrick it and rig up a baffle, it's not going to be in the same class as even a poor modern stove in terms of getting BTUs out of wood and into the house. It's pretty, but not so pretty that I'd want to cut 2x the firewood that a normal stove uses.

I am new to using a wood stove and just dragged an on Quaker Buck out if my parents basement. I cleaned it up, seems to be in very good shape. Seems that I am missing something insternal, any suggestions? This stove is pretty long (34") with the design should I burn in the middle or twords the rear?
View attachment 241236 View attachment 241237
Thanks
Donny
Do you have a liner run up through that fireplace flue?