• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

christhenewbie

Feb 11, 2024
Wisconsin
Hello, I am a newbie to woodstoves but have wanted one my whole adult life. I have been looking at different woodstoves and reviews for months. The more I look, the more confused I get. I need your expertise and suggestions. I seem to get a different story everywhere I look.
I need to heat an 1100 sq ft house, not a large space. This seems to be a limiting factor in selection. I also want to install the cold air return vents near the stove for the basement. I need a stove I can cook on. Make a pot of soup or saute some veggies. Nothing too major.
Based on my research, I'm considering a cast iron stove or a Hearthstone green Montian 60. The rep at the Hearthstone dealership said I would be able to cook on a Green Mountain 60. Reps of other stove manufacturers have told me that's not the case. A contractor told me that would be too big of a woodstove for my space, but the rep assures me that's not true.
I was set on a Vermont Castings Dauntless Flexburn, but they have received such poor reviews. I don't want to risk it. My space needs to be bigger for a Jotul that qualifies for the tax rebate, which is the brand I was hoping to get. My son has one and loves it.
Also, do you have any opinions/thoughts on the Vermont Bun Baker ovens by Necture?
I'd be grateful for any thoughts and suggestions from you seasoned, experienced wood burners.
Thank you so much.

You can't have a return within 10 ft of the stove by code. Never a good idea to suck air away from a stove.