Poor Quality Tractor Supply

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Busy_Bosco

Apr 23, 2020
West Virginia
I'm new to the pellet stove game, and I love my local Tractor Supply, but the pellets I got from them don't burn that good.

The pellets leave behind a lot of unburned mass that coats everything.

Do you think Lowes or Home Depot pellets are better?

If you live in the West Virginia Panhandle, who do you use?

Yes usually the box stores will have off brand pellets and they are usually a lessor quality than regional brand names. But that can change from batch to batch year to year.

Looks like you are pretty new here. What type of stove do you have?

You probably need to get your stove dialed in burn wise before you will be able to say whether a cheaper pellet burns bad and the money for top end pellets is warranted.

What is the UPC code on the bags? That could tell us what kind of pellets are actually in there (NEWPs, GS' or something else)

In my area, TSC's are usually Maine Wood Pellets (MWP - not to be confused with Maine's Best) - not a great pellet by any means, but a nice middle-of-the-road pellet that is priced accordingly.

You say you are getting unburned mass , so I'm assuming you mean unburned pellets if this is the case try turning the trim adjustment down one setting at a time allowing atleast 15 mins. to settle and see if that helps.