Question from a newbie "UPDATE"

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CTBurner

Aug 4, 2008
SE CT
Hello All, I am a newbie here and have some questions.

First let me quickly tell you my little woodburning experience. During the Carter years my new bride and I bought a Franklin Stove from sears for about $75.00. Hooked it up to our single flu chimney which also had the furnace on it. We heated solely by wood for 2 years. The stove was half cast iron , half steel, Not even close to airtight, just the opposite. To get enough heat to heat our 2 story 1600 ft home, we had to stuff it full of seasoned oak every 2 hours, set the alarm all night every 2 hours. Stove glowed red on a few occasions, Have not burned since then.

Fast forward 2008 we go out and buy a VC NC Defiant stove. Like everything else I buy , I then go home and look it up on the internet, and see all the bad press, etc. I have decided to give it a go and try to learn to make it burn correctly, So now we address the chimney and learn best option is to rip out the 130 year old chimney with all it rotted bricks and install new 2 flue in its place. Very expensive, but since we burn 6 to 7 tanks a year, I hope to someday see payback. We also know we enjoy wood stoves. I have already put up 3 cords of oak and maple dead wood, all solid with no rot but seasoned a few years on the ground. Hope to put up 6 more.