Removing Jotul F500 stove top for cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bee man86

Oct 13, 2022
Fallbrook Ontario
Hey folks,

I'm new to the Hearth and joined to learn more about my wood stove. Have a few questions.

We just moved to this home and it is heated primarily by a Jotul F500 v2 non catalytic stove. We had a local dealer come to clean and inspect the stove. They said it was in good working order and ready to go but the cast grate had warped. It's now arched up, likely a result of the previous owner cracking the ash door to get the fire going and forgetting it.

I burned last week for three days and decided to clean it today before the cold returns and to get an idea about what's in there and see about some of the criticisms of the unit.

I discovered the vermiculate plate above the burner pipes and the cloth insulation and found a good inch or more of ash sitting on it. I would have thought this should have been taken care of during the service cleaning

I also investigated the common issue of the sticking air vent control, ( mine sticks and I'll get some graphite spray to fix it)l and on dismantling found it full of ash as well as the air channels either side of it.

I wanted to remove the stove top to get a good look and clean. It seems that for my model there are 2 screws that are accessed at the front inside but the third one requires removal of the flue from the back? I think that means removal of the heat shield as well - a bit awkward. I ended up lifting and pushing back the vermiculate plate and pulling mat off, cleaning it, replacing it and sliding the plate back in place.